Book Review: Unravel Me

Image   

Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi

Summary: 

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.
Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible. In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Review:

I am so conflicted right now. I wanted to love this book so bad because I absolutely adored Shatter Me, but I’m just not feeling it. Let’s start.

Characters:

Juliette – Oh, Juliette, never have I wanted to slap a main character in the face, but there’s a first for everything. What happened to the Juliette from Shatter Me? The badass who discovered her own cool powers and basically said fuck you to Warner, the guy that psychologically tortured her??? Juliette in Unravel Me was a complete 180 from the first book. She cries and feels sorry for herself for 75% of the freaking book. Then, she starts to have feelings for Warner, WHO ALMOST FORCED HER TO KILL A LITTLE BOY IN THE FIRST BOOK. What the hell man?? Another thing I couldn’t stand was the fact that she is constantly described as “inhumanely beautiful”, “breathtakingly beautiful”, and “lovely”. Okay, we get it, she’s pretty hot, but do we have to be reminded of this fact in every single character interaction? The answer is NO. Even though I felt so annoyed with her, the scenes were she felt in control of her power and started to feel the tiniest bits of acceptance for it were my favorite. We need more strong female characters! I sincerely hope that Juliette is redeemed in Ignite Me. Fingers crossed.

Adam: I was so bored. The chemistry between Juliette and Adam feels so forced and I just could not get into them as a couple. Adam feels like he has no depth, and so far he’s probably my least favorite character in the entire series.

Warner: FINALLY, a character with depth thank God. Warners character is so different from his character in the first book. In Unravel Me, we learn more about his backstory with his asshole of a father, and I felt sorry for him. Mafi did a wonderful job with weaving together his tragic past with the way he acts and feels. I felt more sympathy with this “monster” than I did for Juliette. I am not entirely convinced of the love triangle between Warner, Adam, and Juliette, but we will see how it turns out in Ignite Me. 

Kenji: The saving grace of this book. Kenji is my favorite character. He has a crazy sad backstory, but he doesn’t sit around moping about it. He is funny and refreshing and I found myself looking forward to any scenes with him in it. I was crying with relief when Kenji kept telling Juliette to get her shit together and stop crying. Thank you for writing such an awesome character Mafi! 🙂 

Plot/Romance:

Ehh, this is where the book really faltered with me. Shatter Me set up Unravel Me to be this awesome dystopian book with crazy battles between the “freaks” and the Reestablishment. It was not that. It was 60% Juliette moping about herself and Adam and Warner, and about 40% actual plot. The book did not get particularly invested in the plot until the last few chapters, which was really disappointing. The problem with the plot was that it was completely taken over by the romance. Don’t get me wrong, Mafi can write some seriously swoon-worthy romance, but there was so much if it that I didn’t look forward to the romantic scenes at all.

Writing Style:

I am sure you all have heard many criticisms of the “purple prose” in Mafi’s books. Let me just say that the writing style, like the book itself, had me majorly conflicted. At times it is absolutely gorgeous, but at other times there are awkward metaphors that were just not pretty. The constant similes and metaphors from Shatter Me were toned down in Unravel Me, however. I am a huge fan of the strike throughs and think they add something special.

 

3/5 stars for this one. It was alright, but I hope Ignite Me exceeds my expectations.

Leave a Reply

